Nurses at Orlando Health have an esteemed past, spanning close to a century. Since 1918, nurses, have embarked on and continue to leave a legacy of caring for patients, families, and our community. At Orlando Health, nurses advocate for superb patient care, are trusted, and respected by our patients and interprofessional partners. We believe in using the best evidence to guide practice to achieve exemplary outcomes for our patients. Our mission is to provide exemplary patient centered care focused on improving health and optimizing outcomes for the communities we serve; and to advance the profession of nursing through clinical excellence and caring practice.

If you are looking for an organization that is continually transforming the practice environment by fostering, creating, and sustaining a culture of excellence, with measureable outcome-driven results, then Orlando Health is the place for you.

Nursing Philosophy

Nursing practice at Orlando Health is unique and distinguishable from the practice of other members of the interprofessional healthcare team. Based upon our core values, nursing reflects an integration of caring practice and clinical excellence. Virginia A. Henderson’s definition of nursing states: “The unique function of the nurse is to assist the individual, sick or well, in the performance of those activities contributing to health or its recovery (or to peaceful death) that he would perform unaided if he had the necessary strength, will or knowledge and to do this in such a way as to help him gain independence as rapidly as possible”[1]. Using the conceptual framework of Virginia A. Henderson and the Synergy Model of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, our philosophy of nursing is: “optimal patient outcomes are achieved when patient needs are matched with nurse competencies”. Other theorists, such as Watson (Human Caring), Kanter (Structural Empowerment), Benner (Professional Development from Novice to Expert), and Orlando (Nursing Process) contribute to our philosophy and beliefs of caring practice and clinical excellence.

[1] Tomey, A. M., & Alligood, M. R. Nursing theorists and their work (p. 102). St. Louis: Mosby, 1998.

Magnet Recognition Program®

The Magnet Recognition Program® is a worldwide prestigious designation given by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) to recognize healthcare organizations that demonstrate nursing excellence in exemplary patient care and innovative professional nursing practice. To date, this important designation has been achieved by 469 organizations in the United States (US) and internationally which represents approximately 8% of all US hospitals and seven organizations internationally.

Magnet Designation™ is the “gold standard” for nursing’s contribution to quality patient outcomes and serves as one of the ultimate benchmarks in determining the level of quality a consumer can expect to receive in healthcare organizations. Magnet Recognition® represents a culture of excellence that embodies participatory leadership, evidence-based standards, knowledgeable and competent nurses who practice autonomously, and the existence of strong collaboration between interprofessionals. Also, Magnet hospitals attract highly qualified team members who tend to stay with the organization longer because of the focus given to autonomy, innovation, recognition, and leadership’s commitment to provide a work environment that fosters professional growth and development.

In 2013, Orlando Health Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children and Orlando Health Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women & Babies achieved Magnet® designation, the highest and most prestigious national and international designation for nursing excellence and patient care that a hospital can receive, click on the link below to see highlights from the 2013 ANCC Magnet call:





Beacon Award for Excellence™

The American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) created the Beacon Award for Excellence to acclaim North American inpatient hospital units that utilize evidence-based practices and processes to improve patient outcomes. The three levels of designation for the Beacon Award are tiered to allow units to aim for specific levels over a specific timeframe throughout their journey; levels include Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Units that are recipients of a Gold Beacon Award demonstrate excellence in sustained unit performance and patient outcomes. Silver-level recipients demonstrate continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care. While Bronze-level awardees, demonstrate success in developing, deploying, and integrating unit-based performance criteria for optimal patient outcomes.

The Beacon Award for Excellence demonstrates to our patients and families superior-quality outcomes and patient satisfaction through the provision of exceptional care. Nurses understand that units who have attained the Beacon Award for Excellence demonstrate a supportive, positive, healthy work environment where collaboration between care providers is the norm.

To date, the following nursing units at our Orlando Health hospitals have achieved the Beacon Award for Excellence.

Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children

  • Pediatric Intensive Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award, second award

Dr. P. Phillips Hospital

  • Intensive Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award

Health Central Hospital

  • Critical Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award
  • Intermediate Critical Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award

Orlando Regional Medical Center

  • Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award
  • General/Bariatric Surgery Unit – Silver Beacon Award
  • Intermediate Critical Care Unit – Gold Beacon Award
  • Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award
  • Neuroscience Unit – Gold Beacon Award
  • Orthopedics – Silver Beacon Award
  • Trauma Intensive Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award
  • Trauma Step-down Unit – Silver Beacon Award

South Seminole Hospital

  • Intensive Care Unit – Silver Beacon Award

Winnie Palmer Hospital for Women and Babies

  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit - Silver Beacon Award

The fourteen Orlando Health inpatient units are part of the overall 48 inpatient units that have earned the prestigious American Association of Critical Care Nurses Beacon Award for Excellence in the state of Florida.